top of page

Life, Death and New Releases.

I won't lie. The cover of my latest book is ... poor, to say the least. There is a reason and I'll share that here. The final proofreading from an outside eye, took longer than expected. I received it back just about the time I received word that my fathers health was deteriorating. In an effort to get it published and out there for him, I slapped together a cover and submitted to Amazon. A day later, I downloaded it to his kindle which seemed to please him.

He never read it. He died two days later on June 08th 2016.

My father was a good man. The cancer that took his life at the age of 67 was cruel and he deserved so much better. He was always a reader. In fact it was he who first encouraged me to read which was the greatest pleasure I had in life for a number of years.

When I released my first book he was happy to read it and he enjoyed it enough that whenever a new book was brought out he was always eager to read it. I like to think that perhaps he was proud of my books, he certainly seemed to be in the way he told others about them.

As the cancer progressed, he mentioned my latest work and his desire to finish reading the series before he died. I failed him. Not only is the series not finished, but because of the delays, he didn't get to read my latest work. Something he'd been looking forward to.

It couldn't be helped. No one expected his cancer to progress so fast. Even in my most pessimistic projections, I had expected him to reach August of this year. It was not to be. I still feel as though I failed.

The cancer moved quickly. His liver swelling and in this final week, his mind deteriorating. He was seeing and hearing things, having conversations that others couldn't understand. The doctor told us, the cancer had reached his brain. A poor end for my father.

My week has been spent on the phone, calling family and informing them of the news. As the only one of his three sons who had any real contact with him, I was the go between. So with a lot of calling, a visit to the A&E with my daughter who somehow managed to spill boiling coffee over herself, I have had precious little time for anything. Little interest either to be honest.

At some point soon I will be continuing my work but for now, a moments respite is needed. Once I continue my latest writing works, I shall let you know here.

Regards

Richard.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page